Should you work part-time or full-time?

4 Sep

Truth is only you can answer that question.

time-question-blogging-techregion-com

However, I’d like to share information with you about the potential benefits one can enjoy while working part-time instead of full-time.

Since I left my last job working with a NYC agency, I have been working part-time and I must say that I like it. Of course, my income is not what it used to be, but this is a temporary situation. While I have been working part-time I have enrolled in an information technology school where I am training to become an IT Engineer. As an IT Engineer I will be able to assist and answer just about any question as it pertains to computer repair, installation and upgrade all Windows, MAC, and Linux systems. There is no way that I would have been able to take this course if I was working full-time.

Some say that they have full-time bills so a part-time income will not cut it. I understand that, but I have two part-time jobs so money is coming in and I have other “hustles.” Additionally, consider this: Abraham Lincoln said, “It I had four hours to chop down a tree three of those hours would be spent sharpening my ax.” That is why I’m in school – sharpening my ax so that I can chop down bigger money trees in the future.

Upon completion of my training, I will look to take a part-time internship so that I can gain experience and then eventually ease into a career as a contracted IT consultant.

Oh…

Let me tell you about my two current part-time jobs.

I work part-time for two non-profit organizations. One is where I work as a program facilitator with urban youth teaching them various socially desirable behaviors and skills and teaching academic courses in an innovative way using elements of Hip Hop music. The other part-time job is working with the YMCA as a martial arts instructor teaching children and teens Karate and teaching adults practical personal protection.

I’m also started a home-based direct sales business, but I admittedly haven’t done too much with it as of yet. It is documented that the products and the compensation plan work, but you as an independent sales agent must work to generate revenue – of course. I say that with a touch of sarcasm because it amazes me how people complain that they don’t make money in these kind of businesses, but they don’t get off of their butts to do the required work. Perhaps they don’t understand that the only thing that falls from the sky are rain drops and snow flakes – not money.

Anyway, I’d like to share a few resources to help you figure out if working part-time is feasible for you over working full-time.

Here are links to three articles that I think you may find interesting:

Thank you for your time and attention, and may whichever path you choose for yourself, I hope that it yields a bountiful harvest.

Leave a comment