The Cream Will Keep Rising to the Top

25 Nov

One of the great things to come out of Superstorm Sandy was it really showed me who my true friends and loving family members are.

No one owes may anything. I do not have an entitlement mentality and have not and will not feel sorry for myself or my situation.

It is just interesting how adversity shows you people’s true colors.

The fallout to Superstorm Sandy has indeed been a blessing because I have a better idea of who is who in my life.

In this triple rhyme poem, song titles are hyperlinked to their respective audio files on GrooveShark.com and YouTube.com.

Enjoy, and figure out is is your friend and who is your frenemy.

“The Cream Will Keep Rising to the Top”

© 2012 Tyrone Turner

All rights reserved

“A friend in need is a friend indeed” is an old saying.

There is some fire to spit around this topic and I’m not playing.

Superstorm Sandy let me know which friendships are immortal and which were sick and decaying.

I generally don’t ask family or friends for favors because I believe in doing for self.

When you work hard for what you got you don’t want other able-bodied people siphoning your wealth.

Allowing such behavior can be bad for your financial health.

Those that know me know that I am far from being Minnie the Moocher or Begging Billy.

If someone were to say otherwise you would have to hit them with a “Really?”

They’ll be fronting while their lips are moving like Milli Vanilli.

It is funny how you can always be there for others and remember every milestone in their life.

Their children’s birthday, their favorite food and the anniversary of getting married to their husband or wife.

When you are not even called or asked about feels like you were stabbed in the heart with a sharp knife.

“I’ve been Thinking of You. Have you been thinking about me?” is a question that Tony! Toni! Toné decided to pose.

If you answer ‘yes,’ you’re a liar and your nose will grow like Pinnochio’s.

You get caught up in your lies and fronting and are all over the place like Any Way the Wind Blows.

Friends, how many of us have them?” is a question we all should ask.

Your friend could be Frenemy and if you are not careful they could take you to task.

Then you’ll be listening to sad songs while you cry and sip whiskey from a flask.

I’m also disappointed at companies that say they take care of their people – Ha! What a gaff!

Like Craig G and Marley Marl said, Don’t Make Me Laugh.”

Your words and actions didn’t add up like it was bad math.

When the power was out we had to get a generator that was powered by gas or diesel.

When you’re down and out, Pop goes the Weasel!

Their bullshit is a piece of work that should be framed and displayed on an easel.

Heaven help you when you are in your next jam and you feel all alone.

Don’t listen to Erykah! You better not call Tyrone!

Get busy because you’re All Alone.

I got knocked down but can’t stop won’t stop will not stop!

I can never sink to the bottom because if I was 5-0 I would be top cop.

You can’t hold me down because the cream will Keep Rising to the Top.

Leave a Reply

